Written by 5:53 pm Sports

Which country has hockey as its national game?

The national game of India is hockey. It was introduced to the country by British soldiers and it soon became popular with locals.

The game is played on an ice rink divided into two halves by a center line marked on the ice surface. The object of the game is to score more goals than your opponent. Each team has 11 players: one goalkeeper, three defensemen, three forwards, and three wingers.

The game consists of three periods. During each period, both sides have a chance to score one goal with no time limit or stoppage for time-outs or penalties (except for injury). If neither team scores in regulation time, there is a 10-minute overtime period with sudden death thereafter (i.e., if an overtime goal is scored by either team, that team wins). Each team has five players on the ice at any given time while four are in their defensive zone and one is in their offensive zone.

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Last modified: August 9, 2022