Written by 9:21 am Sports

Did Lionel Messi win the World Cup in his life?

The Argentine superstar has been named the best footballer in the world five times, and he’s been a part of two FIFA World Cup-winning teams. But did Messi ever win the World Cup in his life?

The answer is no. While Messi has played for his country in three World Cups (2006, 2010, 2014), he failed to make an impact on any of them. He didn’t even play in the first one as he was too young then, but you would have thought that at least he would have done better at the other two editions.

In 2006, Argentina were knocked out in the quarter-finals by Germany after extra time. In 2010, they lost to Germany again in the semi-finals but more crucially they failed to qualify for 2014 after losing to Paraguay on away goals rule following a 0-0 draw on aggregate.

The closest Messi came was in 2014 when Argentina reached the final only to lose 1-0 against Germany after extra time again!

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)

Last modified: July 31, 2022