Written by 6:17 am General

Are Truck Drivers Allowed To Drink Off Duty?

In most states, drivers are not allowed to drink while they are on duty. In some states, drivers can drink alcohol while they are off duty, but they must have a zero tolerance policy for the first hour and a half that they have been driving.

In Texas, it is illegal for truck drivers to consume any amount of alcohol within four hours of getting behind the wheel. If you are caught doing so, you will be fined $500 (as well as get points added to your license) for a first offense and $1,000 (plus points) for a second or subsequent offense.

In California, it is illegal for truck drivers to consume any amount of alcohol within eight hours of getting behind the wheel. This includes having a blood alcohol level of .04% or greater within two hours of getting behind the wheel. If you are caught doing so, you will be fined up to $1,000 (as well as get points added to your license) for a first offense and up to $3,000 (plus points) for a second or subsequent offense.

(Visited 9 times, 1 visits today)

Last modified: November 10, 2022

Close